Webtrees Editors can edit several objects in the family tree, but the changes usually have to be approved by a moderator before publication. The administrator may allow an editor’s changes to be immediately published, but it is more usual for moderators to have to approve them first.
Webtrees Editors Changes
Editing Facts and Events
Editors who have signed into the site using their username and password can edit the record of any individual on the family tree.
The above image shows the top of the page displaying the the ‘Facts and Events’ tab on the record of Octavious Underwood. There are are several icons of a pencil, and clicking on any of the pencil icons allows you to edit that particular entry.
Scrolling to the bottom of the ‘Facts and Events’ tab takes you to a box that allows you to add any fact or event that is missing (above picture). The most commonly used facts are listed underneath the box, and those facts can be quickly added by clicking on one of those links. Alternatively, clicking in the box itself brings up a list of all the possible facts, and scrolling through the list and selecting any particular item allows you to enter that particular fact.
At the top of the ‘Facts and Events’ tab, clicking on the ‘Add a media object’ link takes you to a box (above image) from where you can type in the name of any previously downloaded media file (image, video, sound file, etc). Alternatively, clicking on the white cross in the dark box allows you to download media files from your own computer or laptop. Once you have taken one of the above two actions, just select the ‘Save’ button.
Editing notes is similar to editing the Facts and Events. In anyone’s family tree entry, when you are on the ‘Notes’ tab you will see a pencil icon. Clicking on that icon allows you to make changes, and they are saved by clicking on the ‘Save’ button.
At the bottom of the ‘Notes’ tab page there is an ‘Add a note’ link. Clicking on that link opens a text box in which you can type your note, then click on the ‘Save’ button.
Editing Shared Notes
When a shared note is created , there is a box under the note where the creator can add a ‘Privacy restriction‘ and restrict the display of the note to managers, members, or visitors.
There is also an ‘Editing restriction‘ box which, if activated, limits editing to managers.Provided editing has not been restricted to managers, editors and above can edit shared notes in a similar way to ordinary notes. On the ‘Notes’ tab find the shared note you want to edit, and you will see a pencil icon. Clicking on that icon displays part of the note followed by a text box. Typing in the text box brings up a display of all linked notes. Click on the correct one to open it for editing and once finished click on the ‘Save’ button to save the edit.
When you type information into ‘Notes’ (for example) that information will be typed in basic text.
If the administrator has activated it, you may be able to format the text using a system called ‘Markdown‘.
There are several Markdown guides if you do an internet search, and it is quite easy to transform family tree notes with only a few tags.
Double dotted lines create a larger text
Single dotted line creates a
Putting stars each side of a word (or words) makes them bold.
Adding a line at the start of a line creates an unordered list item.
– First list item
– Second list item
– Third list item
Adding numbers will create an ordered list
- First list item
- Second list item
- Third list item
If you’ve never used Markdown before, try writing a note for someone using the above tags. If it isn’t allowed, or if you get it wrong, just delete the tags and no harm is done.
The Families Tab displays a table comprising the person’s family with their patents, followed by the person’s family with any spouse. Webtrees Editors can add new individuals to any of the families listed.
If you scroll to the bottom of the table listing the person’s family with their parents, you will see links to ‘Add a brother‘ or ‘Add a sister‘.
Clicking on any of those links opens up a form. Using a drop-down list, you have to choose what relationship the new person is to the parents (birth, adopted, fostered, etc.). There are further boxes for adding their first names (given names) nicknames, married name (if already married), their sex, their place and date of birth, baptism, death, and burial. There are also options for adding sources and notes. By default, living persons can be added but are not visible to visitors. However, there may be times when you want to restrict access to members or managers, and the final setting allows you to do that.
Once you have added as much information as you can, don’t forget to click on the ‘Save‘ button.
The above describes how to add new members to the person’s family with their parents, but if the person is an adult who has been married you can scroll further down the page to their family with their spouse. The bottom of that table displays links similar to the above, where you can add a son or add a daughter.
The very bottom part of the families table provides links from where you can add a wife or husband, and you can choose to select a spouse from an individual who already exists on your tree or to create a brand new person.
Once Webtrees Editors have finished editing and clicked on the ‘Save’ button, they get an onscreen message to remind them the changes need to be reviewed by a moderator.
When you add, edit or delete information, the changes are not saved immediately. Instead, they are kept in a ‘pending’ area. These pending changes need to be reviewed by a moderator before they are accepted.
This process allows the site’s owner to ensure that the new information follows the site’s standards and conventions, has proper source attributions, etc.
Pending changes are only shown when your account has permission to edit. When you sign out, you will no longer be able to see them. Also, pending changes are only shown on certain pages. For example, they are not shown in lists, reports or search results.
When a moderator next logs in, at the top of their page they will see a message telling them there are ‘Pending Changes’. Once they have reviewed the changes they have the options of ‘Accepting’ or ‘Rejecting’ them, and of sending you a message. Politeness should ensure they send you a message either way.
When you log in after your changes have been accepted or rejected you should find a message from the moderator in your onscreen inbox.